Gender identity, Africanfuturism and other ways of being

In January, my readings and reflections have centered around gender identities and alternate ways to express and imagine ways to be.

What I learned from Akwaeke Emezi‘s Freshwater : the West doesn’t have all the answers.
Gender dysphoria or split personality disorder amongst other human conditions are concepts that were largely pathologized in the West. In Freshwater, Emezi explores the multiplicity of their selves in ways that aren’t commonly discussed or imagined. Rather than equate their neural activities to a pathology or a psychological diagnosis, they use Igbo ontology to find and claim identities as objange (an Igbo spirit that’s born into a human body). This has taught me that there are other places to look for answers than the West. That oftentimes my own culture(s) might carry notions I can adopt and use to answer my questions. This has also made me reflect more deeply on my own gender identity. More on this later.

“Our language around gender identity is often so Western, how can we intersect that with non-Western realities? “

Akwaeke Emezi

In Conversation – Akwaeke Emezi

Transition – My surgeries were a bridge across realities, a spirit customizing its vessel to reflect its nature


Nnedimma Nkemdili Okorafor coined the term Africanfuturism because Afrofuturism didn’t do a good job at illustrating her work. What I’ve learned from this is: if the box doesn’t fit you, make your own. Or even screw boxes altogether.

Afrofuturism was coined by a SWM and has connotations attached to it that are limited and limiting: “…it lacks room to conceive of Blackness outside of the Black American diaspora or a Blackness independent from any relationship to whiteness”. Additionally, this made me address my own understanding of who gets to coin words and concepts. I’ve long felt that the power and authority to coin new words belonged solely to those in power, AKA the colonizers, the SWM. Neologisms make their way into lexicons every year based on frequency of use and relevance. I shouldn’t let entities external to me and my understanding of the world (especially entities with a track record of erasure and oppression) be the only ones who get to imagine new ways of being. That would be akin to enabling my own oppression.

Afrofuturism, Africanfuturism, and the Language of Black Speculative Literature

“My science fiction has different ancestors — African ones,” says writer Nnedi Okorafor.

“There’s magic in being seen by people who understand – it gives you permission to keep going.”
― Alok Vaid-Menon, Beyond the Gender Binary

“Understand this if you understand nothing: it is a powerful thing to be seen.”
― Akwaeke Emezi, Freshwater


I can’t tell you how deeply I’ve felt this over the past few months. In my recent readings, especially those that mirror my own intersections, I’ve discovered the power that lies in being seen. When I feel seen, but I mean really seen, I am reminded I exist. Now that I’ve discovered this ability to be seen in my near entirety, either by books, art, online spaces or people, I don’t think I can do life any other way. I shouldn’t have to.

Also, internationally renowned gender non-conforming writer and performance artist Alok Vaid-Menon has been doing wonderful work, first of all just by existing and second of all, by continuously dissecting contrived so-called “truths” (often fabricated with very specific end goals in mind) and doing so with critical thought and compassion by the truckload – an unlikely but essential mix! I love them and I think Beyond the Gender Binary is a quick, accessible read that easily broadens perspectives and expands the possibilities of love and acceptance beyond the limited confines of tolerance. Alok has helped me face my own biases, they’ve educated me tremendously and have modelled the kind of compassionate behavior I can only hope to someday come close to.


3 thoughts on “Gender identity, Africanfuturism and other ways of being

Leave a comment